Hall of Fame - N

Anagrammy Awards > Hall of Fame > N

National legislators =
A long senatorial list.
Golightly, GD, 1887

Neat tailors =
Author unknown

Negation =
Get a "no" in.
Yercas, TE, 1926

Horatio Nelson =
Lo! Nation's hero.
Author unknown

Nessiteras Rhombopteryx [Sir Peter Scott's scientific name for the Loch Ness Monster] =
Monster hoax by Sir Peter S.
Nicholas Fairbairn, date unknown

Nicholas the Second, Czar of Russia =
Zealous anarchists do scorn chief.
Ernest, The Oracle, 1905

Florence Nightingale =
Flit on, cheering angel.
Lewis Carroll, also found in Walsh's Handbook of Literary Curiosities, 1892

Florence Nightingale =
Leg on fire, change lint.
Richard Stilgoe, The Richard Stilgoe Letters, 1981

Florence Nightingale =
Fetch Nigel an iron leg.
Richard Stilgoe, The Richard Stilgoe Letters, 1981

Nomenclators =
Control names.
E.L.M. Terry, AP, 1900

Nominate =
A mention.
Alec Sander, TE, 1919

Nostalgia =
Lost again.
Ralph, C, 1902

No Trespassing =
Stop an ingress.
D.C. Ver, GD, 1897

Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island =
Two Canadian provinces, lands I dread!.
Dmitri Borgmann, On Vacation, 1965

Nuclear weapons =
One war cleans up.
Author unknown

The nudist colony =
No untidy clothes.
Author unknown

The nude in art =
Nature hinted.
Amaranth, TE, 1925

Numerals =
Author unknown


Numismatist =
Mint is a must.
Author unknown


19 anagrams.

Alphabetical Index of Subjects

  A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J-K   L   M   N   O   P   Q-R   S   T   U   V   W   X-Y-Z  

Return to Hall of Fame Index

Abbreviations used in the Hall of Fame
  • AG = Anagram Genius.
  • AP = The Ardmore Puzzler.
  • B&O = Baltimore & Ohio Magazine.
  • C = Complications (aka Inter-Ocean).
  • F-SP = The Four-Star Puzzler.
  • GD = Golden Days.
  • NT = The National Tribune.
  • NP = The Newark Puzzler.
  • TE = The Enigma.
  • TEE = The Eastern Enigma.
  • WW = Word Ways

Symbols used:
= normal anagram
~ subject and anagram together form a phrase or sentence
"antigram" - subject and anagram have opposite meanings.

The Anagrammy Awards